Student Affairs

All Call Awards- Student Nominated

Tyler Pardee, M.D., Memorial Award

The Tyler Pardee Memorial Award was created in 2013 by the friends and family of Tyler Pardee, a 2010 graduate from the UCSD School of Medicine.  Tyler initially pursued residency training in Emergency Medicine in New York.  Sadly, after one year of residency training, he was diagnosed with advanced stage colon cancer, and returned to his home town of San Diego in order to receive comprehensive cancer care.   Tyler passed away at the age of 28 in October, 2012.

In establishing this award, Tyler’s friends and family would like to recognize a graduating medical student who best embodies Tyler’s personal qualities.  Tyler was an active, adventurous, and well-balanced young man with enormous concern for the well-being and happiness of others.  We remember him for his inspiring drive and energy, his enthusiastic and positive demeanor, his kindness to his fellow students and his devotion to his work. 

Graduating students may be nominated for this award by fellow students or by faculty.  The recipient will be selected by a committee from the Division of Medical Education.

Nominations for this award can be submitted on-line.

Deadline: March 10, 2017

Joseph Stokes III, M.D. Award

This award was established to recognize a graduating medical student who initiated and designed (and when possible implemented) an outstanding ISP in the areas of primary care, clinical epidemiology and preventive medicine in the context of community health and health promotion. The recipient will receive an award, along with $500. Nominated ISPs are reviewed by a selection committee.

Students may submit their application material on-line.

Deadline: April 1, 2016

S.B.H. Memorial Thesis Award, in Memory of Samuel B. Hamburger

This award is named after the father of one of our distinguished emeritus faculty members, Dr. Robert Hamburger, who passed away in 2014.  It is given to graduating medical students for an outstanding Independent Study Project.  Students are nominated by their project Chairs and the award recipients are selected by a faculty committee.

Nominations for this award may be submitted on-line.

Deadline: March 10, 2017

To report technical difficulties or seek further information, please contact SOM Awards telephone: (858) 246-0716


Page 'Breadcrumb' Navigation: