Association of Native American Medical Students


Immediate Past President: Alec Calac (Pauma Band of Luiseño Indians – G3, MSTP)

2018 – 2022

Chapter President

Paul Michael Acosta (Arawak – MS3, PRIME)

2022 – present

Recruitment and Admissions Coordinator: Yasmin Zuch (Navajo Nation – MS2, PRIME)

2022 – present

Youth Outreach Coordinator: Brianna Irons (Chickasaw Nation – MS3, PRIME)

2020 – present

Treasurer and Grants Coordinator: Danielle Schurr (Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara Nation – Master's, PRIME)

2020 – present

Undergraduate Mentorship Coordinator: Colton Applegarth (Cherokee Nation – MS3)

2020 – present


At-Large Officer: Rhiannon Buchholz (Nez Perce Tribe – Research Year)

2020 – present

Physician-Scientist (MD/PhD) Training Liaison: Summer Fair (Navajo Nation – MS2)

2021 – present




Faculty Advisor

Dr. Tommi Gaines, DrPH

(Hopi Tribe, Navajo Nation)

Faculty Mentor

Dr. Gabriel Wardi, MD, MPH

(Choctaw Nation)

PRIME-TIDE Director (Program in Medical Education – Transforming Indigenous Doctor Education)

Dr. Matthew Allison, MD, MPH

(Chickasaw Nation)


Faculty Mentor

Dr. Joseph Avalos, MD (Tiwa/Tigua Pueblo)

Faculty Mentor

Dr. Jessica Montoya

(Isleta Pueblo and San Felipe Pueblo)




Ashley Ott (Choctaw Nation): Internal Medicine Resident, Massachusetts General Hospital

Luis Gasca: Internal Medicine Resident, Mayo Clinic Rochester


Page 'Breadcrumb' Navigation: